Olympians Shine at the 2023 Laureus World Sports Awards Ceremony

2 mins read
Laureus World Sports Awards 2023

The 2023 Laureus World Sports Awards ceremony took place in Paris, France, on May 8, 2023. This annual event honors the best athletes and teams worldwide for their outstanding performances and contributions to inspiring others through sport. This year, the ceremony was marked by a strong Olympic presence, with 19 Olympians nominated across various categories.

Among the nominated Olympians, multiple gold medalists like Mikaela Shiffrin, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, and Rafael Nadal were featured. These athletes all delivered exceptional performances over the past year and were recognized for their contributions to their respective sports.

In the Sportswoman of the Year category, five Olympians were nominated: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Jamaican athlete; Katie Ledecky, American swimmer; Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone, American athlete; Mikaela Shiffrin, American alpine skier; and Iga Świątek, Polish tennis player.

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce won her fifth world title in the 100 meters in Eugene at the age of 35, becoming the oldest sprinter to win a world title. Iga Świątek solidified her place at the top of women’s tennis by winning six WTA championship titles, including Roland Garros and the US Open. She also achieved a streak of 37 consecutive wins, earning her the longest winning streak of the century in her sport.

Mikaela Shiffrin broke Ingemar Stenmark’s record by achieving the highest number of World Cup alpine skiing victories by a skier. Katie Ledecky won four gold medals at the FINA Swimming World Championships in Budapest and broke the world records in the 800m and 1500m short course at the FINA Swimming World Cup.

In the Sportsman of the Year category, six Olympians were nominated: Kylian Mbappé, French soccer player; Lionel Messi, Argentine soccer player; Max Verstappen, Dutch racing driver; Mondo Duplantis, Swedish athlete; Rafael Nadal, Spanish tennis player; and Stephen Curry, American basketball player.

Lionel Messi lifted the trophy in Qatar last year as captain of the Argentine team. Rafael Nadal won his 14th title at Roland Garros last May, allowing him to lead the men’s Grand Slam champions ranking with 22 titles.

The full list of winners of the 2023 Laureus World Sports Awards:

Sportsman of the Year: Lionel Messi
Sportswoman of the Year: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryse
Team of the Year: Argentina
Comeback of the Year: Christian Eriksen
Breakthrough of the Year: Carlos Alcaraz
Sportsperson with Disability of the Year: Catherine Debrunner

You maybe interest to read:

Lionel Messi’s Suspension Canceled: Apology and Club Harmony Prevail in PSG
Suns win vs. Nuggets:Booker and Durant Combine for 72 Points
PUMA Accelerates into Pole Position as Official Formula 1 Supplier

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual ceremony that honors the best athletes and teams worldwide for their outstanding performances and contributions to inspiring others through sport. The event is organized by the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, which uses the power of sport to end violence, discrimination, and inequality.

Awards are presented in several categories, including Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Team of the Year, Breakthrough of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Disabled Sportsman of the Year, and Action Sportsman of the Year. Nominees and winners are selected by a panel of international sports journalists and members of the Laureus World Sports Academy.

The Laureus World Sports Awards ceremony is considered one of the most prestigious award ceremonies in the world of sport and attracts athletes and celebrities from around the world.