High Anticipation Ahead of the Debut McLaren Trophy: A Riveting Collision of Ambition and Power

2 mins read
McLaren Trophy 2023

As the pulse of motorsport fans accelerates worldwide, the stage is set for the inaugural McLaren Trophy Season, scheduled to make its debut at the legendary Paul Ricard circuit in France from June 2-4.

Seventeen cars and 33 drivers have been confirmed to vie for the trophy, reflecting an immense interest and enthusiasm from the global racing community.

The McLaren Trophy, unveiled to the world just a year ago in July, is an exclusive championship that caters to aspiring amateur drivers and fosters pro-am partnerships. It offers a unique platform to showcase the stunning Artura Trophy, a 585PS titan of a race car that encapsulates the very essence of speed and power.

McLaren Trophy 2023

Rivalling the lap times of GT3 cars, this marvel of engineering owes its DNA to the Artura GT4. Minor tweaks to the ECU and aerodynamic components transform it into a versatile beast that can also compete in GT4 competitions. The Trophy further offers a category for 570S, enabling owners of the previous 570S Trophy cars to vie for class victories and championships on the same grid.

Within mere weeks of the Trophy’s announcement, several seasoned GT competition teams had already pledged their participation. The most striking response was seen for the Artura Trophy car, which had its initial quota of 10 cars for the 2023 season filled much earlier this year.

McLaren Trophy 2023

McLaren’s pioneering initiative centers around the amateur driver, encouraging them to share the spotlight with professionals in the top Artura Trophy class. Some of the most celebrated names from the GT racing realm will compete for race victories, sharing the grid with their team-mates.

The Europe leg of the McLaren Trophy is slated to complement Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe events, headlined by the prestigious Crowdstrike 24 Hours of Spa. An intriguing addition to this year’s calendar is a season prologue scheduled for May 22 at the Paul Ricard circuit. This event is poised to provide teams and drivers a golden opportunity to acclimatize and test their prowess ahead of the official commencement of the championship.

You maybe interest to read:

Manchester City Sprints Toward History: Champion’s League Triumphant Rout Over Real Madrid
Premier League: Arsenal’s Title Hopes Shattered by Bold Brighton
AS Monaco Reaches The EuroLeague Final Four

Ian Morgan, Director of Motorsport at McLaren Automotive, expressed his elation at the overwhelming response the McLaren Trophy has received. He said, “The response to the new series has been exceptional, and we’re delighted that the reception to the new Artura race car has also been equally strong. The versatility of this car has helped to drive sales and we hope to see many drivers compete with it in both Artura Trophy and Artura GT4 configurations this year.

He further attributed the exceptional demand for the car to the phenomenal record of the 570S GT4 and the continuing success of the 720S GT3, now updated to EVO specification.

McLaren Trophy 2023

McLaren Trophy, Europe calendar 2023

May 22Season ProloguePaul RicardFrance
June 2-4Rounds 1 & 2Paul RicardFrance
June 29–July 1Rounds 3 & 4Spa-FrancorchampsBelgium
July 28–30Rounds 5 & 6NürburgringGermany
September 1–3Rounds 7 & 8HockenheimGermany
September 29 – October 1Rounds 9 & 10BarcelonaSpain

McLaren Trophy, Europe provisional entry list 2023

No.Driver 1Driver 2TeamCar
7Gonzalo De AndresTomas PintosSMC MotorsportArtura Trophy
12Jay PalmerJoe OsborneOptimum MotorsportArtura Trophy
13Mohammed Al-KhalifaTBCInari MotorsportArtura Trophy
23Iain CampbellOli WebbGreystone GTArtura Trophy
27Thomas SurgentMichael O’BrienRace LabArtura Trophy
42Albert JochemsCharles ZwolsmanEquipe VerschuurArtura Trophy
77Mark HoptonEuan HankeyGreystone GTArtura Trophy
80Ron TrenkaJon LancasterGreystone GTArtura Trophy
93David WaddingtonAdam WilcoxInari MotorsportArtura Trophy
TBCTBCTBCSMC MotorsportArtura Trophy
11David FosterBrad EllisOne Motorsport570S Trophy
15Danny Henrey7TSix570S Trophy
24Rafael MartinezJem HepworthGreystone GT570S Trophy
53Neil LangbergRoss KaiserOne Motorsport570S Trophy
68Aaron MorganBobby TrundleyTeam BRIT570S Trophy
71Matt LeBretonTBCDMS Automotive570S Trophy
74Shaun PendrighStuart WhiteGreystone GT570S Trophy

Click on this link to read this article in French version